We provide 8-hour Mental Health First Aid (MHFA) trainings to faith communities. This education training program targets the faith community to educate them about mental health/substance use disorders in order to help the congregation and the overall community.

These trainings are designed to increase the mental health literacy within Cuyahoga County faith communities. The program will build or expand the capacity of the faith community to detect and respond to behavioral health issues negatively impacting congregants in order to connect those individuals with these issues to needed services. We seek to establish knowledgeable and qualified individuals within each congregation that will be available to assist individuals and family members seeking recovery, every step of the way.


To complete this 8-hour training participants must attend all four trainings in a series.



Upcoming MHFA Trainings


Olivet Institutional Baptist Church (OIBC)

8712 Quincy Ave

Cleveland, Ohio 44106


Series 1:

  • Tues, March 5, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, March 12, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, March 19, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, March 26, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm


Series 2:

  • Tues, June 4, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, June 11, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, June 18, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, June 25, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm


Series 3: 

  • Tues, Aug 6, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, Aug 13, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, Aug 20, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, Aug 27, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm


Series 4:

  • Tues, Oct 1, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, Oct 8, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, Oct 15, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm
  • Tues, Oct 22, 2019 @ 6pm - 8pm


Mental Health First Aid (MHFA)

Issue 2: To educate the faith community about mental health/addiction in order to help the congregation and the overall community.


LIFE RECOVERY MINISTRIES